SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Mar’s ponderings: Not a happy bunny

I would appreciate it if my readers that know of the Newbie Haven on my land read this post over at Mar’s Ponderings. Thanks.

I was going to do a July 4th post of freebies today, and had all the photos taken, but this has annoyed me enough to just think f*ck it, to be honest. So no post from me unless I wake up tomorrow feeling a bit more charitable. Mar may generally be all sweetness and fun, but I do get pissed-off sometimes, and this is one of those occasions.

And Miss W? That little “That’s right Bitch, I’m back” snipe in your profile had better not be directed at me, sweetie.

July 3, 2010 - Posted by | adminny stuff, grrr!

6 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry to hear about that. D: Unfortunately, there’s so many SL users who disregard rules and common courtesy for their own purposes. In the long run, maybe it would be best to place a notice in the newbie haven to stay out of private sections under penalty of banning (if you haven’t already). I know it sounds sorta mean, but some users need that push just to be courteous.

    I’m still sorry this happens. I look at your blog when it updates and I appreciate the information it provides. The fact that a few people don’t seem to care that they’re ruining not only this for others but your sense of privacy and security is appalling.

    Here’s hoping you feel better. Just try to remember there are still some users in SL with manners so we’re not all entirely beastly. <3

    Comment by Nami Lithanos | July 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for this comment, Nami. The whole episode today got me down somewhat and distracted me from what was a good day of bargain-hunting and pic-taking for the blog. I have edited the pics, so I’ll probably make the 4th July post shortly so that people have time to grab the items before tomorrow.

      I know not all users are beastly ;) It just bugs me when I have to deal with those that are. All four of the offending avatars are at least a year old, so they’re not what I’d call newbies at all, even if one of them is on a new account (and mentioning it’s not her original account in her profile).

      If I see them on either visitor counter again, though (apart from the Newbie Haven one) they’re banned.

      Comment by Mar | July 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. That really sucks. I hope you don’t let a few idiots ruin your day. Just chalk it up to the price of fame and let it go. Some fans just want to touch their objects of adoration. They don’t stop to think that just because they can doesn’t mean they should (and by all means ban them, it may be the only way they’ll learn). Some people just have no sense for boundaries and personal space.

    I’ve been a faithful reader of your blog for just about a year now and I would really miss you if you stopped posting. I can’t tell you how grateful I am for all the help you’ve given to me and I’m sure plenty of others. I remember when you posted that you had set up a newbie haven on your land. I never went looking for it because by that time I already had a home of my own. Don’t let the idiots get you down.

    Comment by kattatonia Wickentower | July 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh blimey. I wouldn’t say I’m an object of adoration ;)

      I really do love and appreciate all of my readers, whether they comment or not, and whether they’re long-time readers or newbies. I’ve had such a lot of fun through my two and a half years as Mar in SL, and I never get bored with the blog because I feel I’ve got a good mix of info and freebie/cheapie stuff. If I don’t have the energy to hop around and dig out freebies, I can always write a quick tutorial or a prod to do some inventory-sorting, so that gives me a lot of leeway in how I handle my posting. And I’m so happy that I’ve helped a lot of people, because there are many things in SL that can confuse newbies, and we all suffer from out-of-control inventories!

      I won’t stop posting, you can be assured of that. Sometimes I need a bit of a breather, and sometimes (like today) things irk me and make me not want to post for a bit, but I love this blog and I love my readers, so I’ll keep coming back :)

      Comment by Mar | July 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hi! I just discovered your blog, and it’s a God-send for someone trying to reinvent herself in SL.

    THANK YOU!

    Comment by Cheryl | July 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Cheryl. Only too happy to help :)

      Comment by Mar | July 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

