SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Hints & tips: Working with inventory in Viewer 2

UPDATE: If you’ve landed on this page because you suddenly can’t find or access your inventory using Second Life’s new ‘Viewer 2’, please go to this page on the new SL for Nowt blog to find out how to fix the issue :)

EDIT: Apparently the inventory button on the lower toolbar may be an addition only in the Kirsten viewer (see my endnote). Unfortunately I don’t have time to check this out right now, so please be aware that you may not find that button there. Hopefully, though, you should still be able to access your inventory (and thus do the two-windows trick) by opening the Sidebar. Although whether Linden Lab have hidden that sidebar option, too, is open to debate and something I can’t clarify until I (damn it!) am forced to install Viewer 2 myself :/

I’ll admit it: I’m struggling with the new SL viewer, aka Viewer 2 (or, for purposes of this post, V2). To me, as a long-term user of the older-style viewer, it feels completely non-intuitive. I’m especially struggling with inventory when I use it for tutorials, but because it’s so vastly different from the old viewers, I have to take screencaps using both now, to guide users of both and show them what they need to be doing.

Here’s one very useful tip for working with your inventory using V2. That sidebar inventory is a complete bugbear to me. Dragging and dropping (the quickest way to move stuff around in your inventory) is a nightmare, and you can’t actually re-position the sidebar at all. One of the main things I do when working with inventory is to drag two inventory windows side-by-side together in the middle of my viewer, so having one of those stuck to the right-hand-side of the viewer feels very awkward to me.

Hop behind the cut for my simple tip. It’s so simple, in fact, that it was one of those “D’oh!” moments when I realised it ;)

First of all, you need to open your inventory in the sidebar. You do this by clicking on Inventory in your lower button bar.

You can also keep open the Side Panel Control toolbar and click on the small suitcase icon to open inventory. That toolbar will persist through logouts if you want to keep it open, and whenever I have to use V2 I find myself using that a lot.

OK, remember how we used to open a new inventory window so we could drag and drop from one to the other?

Well you know what? Doing that in V2 actually opens an old style inventory window: one that you can move around. So, although it means one or two extra clicks, open a new window from the inventory sidebar:

And then all you need to do is to open another new window from that initial new window. And hey presto: you have two old style inventory windows that you can move around and work with. Much easier! Also, one old style inventory window will persist through logouts, which is doubly useful!

* A little sidenote here: I am actually using a recent iteration of the Kirsten Viewer, which is based on Viewer 2’s codebase. I really should download and install Viewer 2 itself, but having heard one or two mild horror stories about chatlog compatibility between Viewer 2 and the old viewers, which I wouldn’t worry about if Viewer 2 was my only viewer (and given my frank dislike of this new viewer, too) I’m holding back on an official installation. Hopefully these tips and tricks should work in the official viewer as well as they do in the Kirsten version.

June 1, 2010 - Posted by | hints and tips, inventory management, second life, viewer 2 tips and tricks

9 Comments »

  1. Unfortunately, some of the features you mention are not native to V2 – they are Kirsten additions :-(. I’m pretty sure that the inventory button on the bottom is one of those. I can’t bear to start up V2 to confirm this, however, since I V2 insists on clearing my texture cache every damn time AND I end up Ruthed and naked in whatever infohub I logged out of.

    Comment by Galena Qi | June 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh hell. Thanks for that info, Galena. I had a feeling it was too good to be true :(

      No time to rewrite the post right now, so I’ll just do a quick edit and deal with it later.

      Comment by Mar | June 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. It can be a headache, yes. Viewer 2 presented some very new interface concepts so its a bit jarring at first. Thanks for showing me how to do the same thing with having 2 inventory windows open. I was beginning to suspect that there just wasnt a way.

    Comment by WebmistressK | June 2, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re welcome, WebmistressK. At least that bit still works! ;)

      Comment by Mar | June 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. The latest Emerald betas allow me to use the tattoo makeups and alpha layers, which people seemed to like best about V2, so I’ve had no reason to try to deal with V2. I have 2012 and textures rez must faster than Emerald used to for me…it’s a nice viewer.

    Comment by AK Alchemi | June 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve tried the new Emerald beta, AK, and textures are definitely rezzing much faster than they are in the gold viewer. Sadly, though, I think the alpha layer ability is still only viewable by you and not by everyone else when you’re using Emerald, so be aware that others may not see your shoes etc as you do.

      cf. Emerald release log for the beta viewer: Known issues: Alpha layers only display correctly for you and not to others

      That’s not the most recent beta viewer changelog, but the most recent does state that: Fixed inventory icons for alpha and tattoo layers (Alpha layers still have bugs)

      Comment by Mar | June 2, 2010 | Reply

      • Oh!!! I did not know that, yikes. I wonder what my feet have looked like to other people. TY for the link!

        Comment by AK Alchemi | June 3, 2010

  4. I’ve greatly enjoyed these inventory tips, Mar. The good news is the Inventory button is available on v2.x if you install the Starlight skin as well. The Starlight skin also makes some other improvements that make the transition from 1.23 to 2.x a bit easier.

    Comment by Onyx Plutonian | August 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh, that’s excellent news, Onyx! I hope other people will check out that skin if it’s proving as helpful as you say it is. And I’m only too happy to help with the inventory tips (although I need to dive headfirst into my own inventory again; it’s starting to pile up!)

      Comment by Mar | August 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

