SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Skin JIRA – Update

Good news!

Also, something exciting looks to be in the works. Chip Midnight asked here:

What I’d love to see is for the addition of a new type of inventory object that’s a container for textures with alpha channels with permissions (in the same way that skins already are) that people could layer over their skins without having to have them modifiable. That would enable a strong secondary market for skin add-on products, tattoos, and make the clothing system far more flexible than it is.

The reply (here) from nyx Linden sounds awesome:

Progress has been made on that and more. We’re currently working on a number of avatar improvements including the addition of alpha masks to the avatar.

We’re also going to be enabling the ability to wear multiple items of the same type. So in theory you could have a “base” skin layer and add on additional layers for makeup, tattoos, etc. There will be some limits, but it should be fairly flexible. I hope to work on some documentation of the plans for the wiki at some point when things settle down.

April 30, 2009 - Posted by | JIRA issues, second life, skins

3 Comments »

  1. I still wish I could find more for the Linux market regarding some skinning things like AvPainter and the like. I do like using layers for much of my work in Photoshop to simulate the requested item from this original entry. However I could sacrifie the layers for a 3D interface. Might get expensive ($L wise) in the longrun to have variations instead of this “in world skin layering system”

    Comment by Kat | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. There are pitiously few programs out there for Linux in relation to SL, I agree, Kat. I don’t use that OS myself, but was tempted to go with it when I bought my current computer (the store offered Ubuntu as an OS option).

    Have you tried contacting the creators of AvPainter to ask if they would be willing to create a Linux version? It might be worth a try, even if you’re unsuccessful.

    Comment by Mar | May 3, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah. I think I sent them an email. I imagine it would be more trouble to them since AvPainter is using XNA (a Microsoft thing).

      Incidentally I did try using VMWare to launch my WindowsXP but since VM does not allow 3D acceleration, I was out of luck.

      Thanks for the suggestion.

      Comment by Kat | May 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

