SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Truth at The Gnubie Store

Truth Hawks now has a section of freebies on the top floor of The Gnubie Store (follow the red arrow to the exact location). Head over there for a sexy dress, two pairs of shoes for the ladies, two pairs of shoes for the guys, three t-shirts, and a fatpack of ladies’ hair:

Here’s Mar modelling the dress and the wedge shoes:

The pink swirl earrings are also available free in The Gnubie Store, from Polyester Partridge’s section. The necklace is from Juicy (although I’m not sure if it’s available cheaply anymore).

Hop behind the cut to see the mens’ items, plus the other pair of shoes.

And here’s Mar’s male incarnation modelling the t-shirts and shoes:

The hair is also by Truth, but is only available at the mainstore. It’s called ‘Kensei’ and you’ll get the fatpack for just 1L$.

EDIT: It seems that the Kensei dollarbie hair is no longer available. Such a shame, since it was one of the best mens’ hairstyles out there, and having it offered so cheaply saw me blogging it again and again. There is tons of free womens’ hair out there, but precious little for the guys. That makes Mar sad :(

The jeans are part of the 1L$ four-pack by Shai Delacroix, available at The Gnubie Store.

Lastly, here’s Mar in girly form again, modelling the Bootylicious boots:

Mar’s top is a hunt gift from Cupcakes, and her jeans are the freebie pair available at The Block (Varado sim) from DMC.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | boots, dresses, for the guys, freebies, hair, second life, shoes |

8 Comments »

  1. Mar, I’ve looked for the Kensei hair a number of times on your recommendation with no luck. I don’t think Truth has it on sale any longer, either cheap or at regular price.

    Maybe a connected lady such as yourself can have a friendly word with Truth and get it put back on sale? ;)

    Comment by Lewis | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi, Lewis!

    The Kensei hair used to be on the right-hand wall of the hair section when you went in, among about three or four other female styles (if I remember correctly, Kensei was second from the left in the row). However, I received a notecard to say that Truth has remodelled the store again, so I suspect it’s been moved. I really hope it hasn’t been removed, as it’s such a great style.

    When I get home from work today, I’ll pop in-world and take a look, and if I find it, I’ll post a direct SLurl in the comments here, and edit my post with it, so check back at the end of Friday. (If I can’t find it, I’ll let you know that, too.)

    I wish I was that connected! Sadly, I’m just another freebie blogger ;)

    Comment by Mar | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. *sigh*

    Well, I headed over to Truth, and I even checked the two Hairspray sims, but it looks as though the free Kensei hair has been withdrawn. That makes me sad. It’s hard enough for guys to find great free hair as it is, and Truth’s Kensei was an awesome offer: one that has seen me promoting the store again and again.

    Comment by Mar | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for checking, Mar. I had looked for it several times at the old sim as well so, unless I’m as blind as a bat, I don’t think Truth’s had it available for a while.

    I will drop them a line and find out what the go is, and would encourage anyone else who’d like to see it back to do the same. Er…boy-power! ;)

    Comment by Lewis | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. Agreed – men’s hair is a nightmare. Kmadd pushed out a huge pack of freebies a few weeks back, and I’ve been using that extensively…I’m finding group memberships to be the best source for a lot of things.

    Comment by DonnieMac | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. @Lewis – Thanks for contacting Truth. I do know the hair was definitely out at the old store pretty recently, but since the store was remodelled all I can find is the female freebies. It might have simply been moved elsewhere (and I checked at the Hairspray sims, too, where many creators leave their freebie packs of hair, but no dice there either). I would love to see Kensei put back out on sale, as there are precious few ‘always-available’ good hairstyles for men out there.

    @DonnieMac – Thanks so much for that tip-off! I’ve just blogged the new hairstyles and they’re fantastic, especially for guys that want shorter styles. I agree on group memberships being great for stuff, but the one thing I would love for guys to have (and which they had in the Kensei hair) is a permanently-available freebie or dollarbie that I could point them to. With Kensei gone, I can still point them toward single-item freebies, but the joy of a fatpack is that if you don’t want to be one colour only, you can be any colour you want *g*

    Comment by Mar | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hold the presses guys! I’ve heard from Truth this morning and he says Kensei will be back in-store soon. Great news for noob men and bargain hunters everywhere! :D

    Comment by Lewis | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  8. Fabulous news, Lewis! Boy-power worked! *g*

    Comment by Mar | April 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

