SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Hints & Tips: How Mar got her ARC even lower

If you followed my earlier post Hints & Tips: Creating a low-ARC look then you’ll know it’s a Good Thing to wear a low-lag avatar or to keep your ARC (Avatar Rendering Cost) as low as possible when taking part in hunts and clothing fairs and generally visiting places that you know will be incredibly busy.

Well, I just managed to get Mar’s ARC even lower, and still have her looking pretty good. As before, she’s wearing dollarbie t-shirt and cropped pants from Random Fashions (bought at The Gnubie Store) but now I’ve found a way to ditch the prim hair (but still have hair!) and I’ve found even lower-ARC shoes. So from 95 ARC she’s now down to just 38 ARC.

Hop behind the cut for more details.

The skin is Eloh Eliot’s new free Pleiades set, which can be found at The Gnubie Store (follow the arrow upstairs to the red beam to find the exact location). You get four skin tones and seven makeup options. In each makeup option there is freckled and unfreckled, and you can choose from four hair colours. Here, Mar is wearing the Fair skin tone, and the Sterope makeup with black hair:

The shoes are from the brilliant little ADA store, where Ada Quinnell sells not only shoes, but lots of other useful little gadgets, all for free. Being only one-prim, even though they’re sculpty they give a lower ARC than the four-prim flats Mar was wearing before. They come in several colour/pattern combinations, and there are other sculpty shoes and boots for free at the store:

March 28, 2009 - Posted by | ARC - Avatar Rendering Cost, hints and tips, low-lag avatars, second life

14 Comments »

  1. […] UPDATE: Since I made this post, I’ve managed to get Mar’s ARC even lower. Click here to see how I did […]

    Pingback by Hints & Tips: Creating a low-ARC look « SL for Nowt | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. OMG, please, please, PLEASE listen to the woman. I’m currently attempting the Bunny Hop Hunt, and I’m looking right at someone with an ARC of 7000+. Seriously? My ARC is at 26. Skipped the shoes, and am just in socks. Hehe. But, the lag is so bad for me, that I’m about to give up. I really want to do this hunt, but this lag is getting to me. You don’t have to totally glam up to go hunt. Even if I’m seen by some of these people again, I don’t care. Please listen to her.

    Comment by Astrid | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. BTW, Calla’s Foxglove hair is 25 apparently. That’s what I’m wearing today. It costs $300L, but at this point, I’m thinking it was money well spent.

    Comment by Astrid | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Oh, bother. Sorry to be taking up your whole blog. My ARC is going up now that I’m actually rezzing. Forget what I said about my ARC. Back to the drawing board. ;)

    Comment by Astrid | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. I saw someone at a dance event with an ARC of over 11 thousand. I didn’t know it was even possible to have a five-figure ARC, but I was wrong…

    A suggestion for fellow elfy sorts: lots of elf ears have invisible earrings and such on them, as well as scripts for things like color change. I found that replacing them with the freebie elf ears from Grendel’s Children knocked as much as 600 points off my ARC. If you can stand making pointy ears as part of your shape instead of prim ears, that saves even more.

    Comment by Mistletoe | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. Ouch, Astrid! 7000+?! The mind boggles!

    I seriously suggest leaving it a few days before you start the hunt again. Give it a chance to all even out a bit, then make a start.

    Comment by Mar | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  7. Mistletoe, I didn’t think it possible to get that high either, but I’ve seen discussions on forums where a 23k+ avatar was spotted. I think a lot of the time, people try to go as high as possible, just to see how high they can go.

    Comment by Mar | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  8. I’ve been trying to spread the good low-ARC word in the Bunny Hoppers group chat, but some people can be surprisingly resistant. Either they think everyone ELSE should take off their prims so they can keep theirs, or they argue that ARC doesn’t cause lag and people don’t know how to set their preferences correctly. It’s been quite irritating.

    Comment by Jane Primrose | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  9. Perhaps someone should organize a LOW ARC hunt and disqualify anyone above 700 ARC to do the hunt. That would teach ’em!

    Comment by Jinx | March 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. @Jane: In a way, those people are correct: people should change their graphics settings, but ARC doesn’t help the issue. Remembering to check the ‘Avatar Imposters’ option is a good start, but that only works for people over a certain distance away from you; those that are right beside you still need to be rendered in all their primmy glory.

    @Jinx: Awesome idea! I don’t know how it could be done, but imagine the possibilities:

    Primmy Avatar clicks the hunt prize.

    Hunt Prize 1 of 4743990075 whispers: Sorry, Primmy Avatar, but your ARC’s too high. Come back when you’ve taken off a squillion prims, and maybe we can talk.

    Comment by Mar | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  11. My idea would be the hunt is held at some sponsored sim like RLF and each hunter would wear a HUD (must be worn at all times) that doubles as an ARC checker. If they decide to cheat and start wearing primmy stuffs (or remove the HUD) inside the region, they get ejected off the sim (perhaps give them a temporary 30 minute ban too!) until they take those stuff off!

    If anyone thinks my idea is brilliant and puts it to use, I accept tips! =3

    Comment by Jinx | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  12. Sounds like a good idea to me, Jinx (although it would need to be a well-scripted HUD, to avoud script-generated lag, too)!

    Comment by Mar | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  13. When I was in the Gimpster’s class, we were required to keep our arc in the green zone (<= 500 I believe). I made it a little game to see how low I could go. By going barefoot, wearing no-prim clothing (ie, texture only), and wearing grown hair instead of prim hair, I was able to get down to 1. Yes, uno! I think that’s the minimum arc you can have…

    Comment by Firebird | April 18, 2009 | Reply

  14. Yep, one is the lowest ARC an avatar can have, Firebird. It’s a lot of fun once you get started, and it’s an eye-opener when you start trying on things to see how they affect your ARC. I was surprised to find some of my more ‘simple’ shoes gave a higher ARC than what looked like more complex boots!

    Comment by Mar | April 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

