SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Quick n’ dirty inventory catalogue

This morning I was pondering the different methods that could be used to remember exactly what a specific outfit looks like, amid the chaos that is the average Second Life inventory. Sure, we all have our favourites, and there are many instances where we know immediately by the name of an outfit what it will look like.

But, for instance, take my folder from the Discord sim. I have all the group gifts and a number of lucky chair items. All the names are in Japanese: a language I don’t speak: SAI-REI, JOU-DEN, JU-BAKU, etc. How on earth can I remember what those look like? So, apart from maybe appending a descriptive name to the item’s folder (how many ‘black pants with long coat and belt’ can one have?) what other ways are there of knowing what’s inside that folder?

Of course I could take pics and upload them into SL. But we all know how long it can take to rez textures and snapshots in-world, and each of those pics would cost me 10L$ to upload (even if I crammed several outfits/hairstyles etc into one shot, as I suggested in this post) but I have a great solution, and it’s called…

…My Documents.

That’s right. I was browsing the folders on my computer for all the blog posts that I make, and it struck me that this was the perfect place to keep those labelled pictures of not only the outfits I buy but the outfits I put together. A bonus is that, by taking simple screenshots and editing them in a graphics program, it costs me nothing at all.

Hop behind the cut.

You can do this on your main computer hard drive, or load it onto a flash drive: whichever method works best for you. But recreate your in-world inventory filing system (and if you don’t yet have one, this is the ideal place to try sorting one out that you can then move over into SL!)

For outfits you’ve put together, create a folder called My Outfits. Take screenshots, bung ’em in that folder. Simple as that. For multiple outfits from one designer, create a folder for that designer, and do the same. Here’s the folder for all the Lemania Indigo items I’ve blogged so far:

You can see that I’ve called them ‘lemania01, 02, 03’ etc, simply for ease of remembering where I am in my FTP directory. You’ll probably want to name them after the outfit, and then sort your files by name, into alphabetical order.

That’s a good enough start for me (although you won’t want to put prices or other info on there; just a simple clean, legible text description of the outfit’s name on the screenshot). Here are some of the Discord items I have in folders, for an as-yet-unmade blog post:

I can’t speak for Mac (always been a Windows user myself) but you could also check the View options in your folders, and look at bigger versions of the images, if you need to see details:

March 25, 2009 - Posted by | inventory management, second life

7 Comments »

  1. What a blimming excellent idea. It’ll take me a while to get it set up, but it sounds well worth doing.

    Comment by Jane Primrose | March 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. And I thought I was weird for doing this! I even upload them to Flickr because I’m vain and want everyone else to see my purty clothes too :p

    Comment by Guenn Galicia | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. @Jane: Thanks! Once I’d had the idea, it was such a “D’oh!” moment; I’ll never know why I didn’t think of it before!

    @Guenn: LOL! I know some people have started blogs to help them catalogue what they have. Both blogs and Flickr are a great idea, because if you do have great clothes then others can see where you got them. Well OK, maybe it’s not such a great idea if you and your best SL friend -who happens to follow your photostream- both show up at a party in-world wearing the same outfit… ;)

    Comment by Mar | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m slowly but surely working through my vast wardrobe of prim hair :) After that I’ll try to catalogue the skins. Now I wish there was a Filter for skins!

    Comment by Jane Primrose | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. That’s one thing I wish for, too, Jane. It would be great to have filters for things such as skins, hair, jackets, etc.

    Edit: I just found this JIRA request, so if you want to login using your SL name and password (it’s an official Linden site) you can add your vote to have this issue considered:

    VWR-5204: Add filters to inventory to include body parts

    Comment by Mar | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] Quick n’ Dirty Inventory Catalogue – perfect way of remembering what outfits look like […]

    Pingback by Inventory Management 101 « SL for Nowt « Ashes To Ashes, Sale To Sale | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. […] and Skins I’ll work further on another section. I got the idea to catalog from the article Quick n’ dirty inventory catalogue @ Inventory : SL for Nowt. Category: Inventory Management  Tags: declutter, organizer, sl […]

    Pingback by Cleaning Inventory – Body Parts | Mysted Veil | February 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

