SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Bad habits

I have a very bad habit, and it’s not doing my inventory any good.

When I unpack a boxed item, I always take the box back into my inventory (unless the items inside it were no-copy and the box is empty). I do this with the thought that, should the asset server eat the unpacked folders, I will at least have the original box to re-rez and unpack.

Usually, I shove that unpacked box into a ‘To Be Archived’ folder, the contents of which get shoved into an archive prim when I remember to do it. But lately, with all the hunts going on, and with grabbing freebies to blog about… well, I’ve not been doing that. So I have folders containing boxed items and folders containing those boxed items’ contents.

It’s looking messy in there, and I need to sort it out.

Have you got any bad SL habits?

February 7, 2009 - Posted by | inventory management, mar's ponderings, second life

4 Comments »

  1. I used to do that very thing, until I got utterly fed up and started deleting them. Unpacking all the Kissed Hunt boxes will be madness.

    Comment by Jane Primrose | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Do I ever know what you mean, Jane. I still have unopened boxes from about three Lemania hunts ago. Ouch. It’s also hard because I’m having to unpack the Kiss Hunt boxes as I go along, so I can blog the contents, which makes it hard to figure out where I got up to!

    Comment by Mar | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I do this too! And I end up with so many copies of things in my inventory. And you’re right, after all these hunts I’m going to need some serious inventory cleaning.

    Comment by Astrid | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. @ Astrid. I’ve not had much time in-world over the past few days, so my hunting has (thankfully!) been limited, but what time I have had has been spent in screencapping my inventory system, so I can make a blogpost (possibly a series of them) on rescuing your inventory from a hunt marathon.

    Comment by Mar | February 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

