SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

OMG, please kill the lights n’ bling!

Hi, guys. No, I haven’t forgotten you. My in-world time has been severely limited lately. So when I do manage to finally log in so I can write a post that I’ve been wanting to make for weeks, the last thing I needed was to be blinded.

Some of you may have already read my old When is a facelight not a facelight? post. This one continues from that (and don’t worry; the freebie post I was at this place to make will follow shortly) and it’s a plea to everyone, in simple words: DON’T OVERDO IT!

So, someone landed close to me (not a newbie; this avatar was over a year old), and out of the corner of my eye, I saw sparklies:

These were no ordinary sparklies, though. For one thing, they were vicious. Not for this glitter-lovin’ lady the gentle *bling* *bling* or the subtle *plink* of occasional glimmerybits. Nope. This was full-on, eyeball-assaulting *WHAM!* *BAM!* with each bling script set to repeat as fast as possible. Ever tried to take a screenshot of someone wearing bling items, and ended up having to take several pics before the screenshot didn’t capture the bling every time? No such problems here; it was that continual.

But it gets worse…

This lady lit up the entire area.

Ah, Windlight, you cause us many problems. Many of us that do wear facelights eventually find one that’s subtle and just adds enough to our skins to enhance them. Whereas others wear enough light-emitting items to them into a beacon that could guide shipping in at night:

Now. The facelight that this lady is wearing is a freebie, available at this location. I snagged it and tried it on. There are three versions: facelight only, face and back, and face and body. Much of what you see in the next image is from that facelight set: the three smaller circular lights, and the large half-sphere above her. This is the face and body light set, and comprises four light-emitting prims. She is also wearing one other, enormous, light-emitting prim in front of her. That makes five ‘local lights’ she’s wearing. The total amount of local lights that can be in any one area is six. So that’s one other local light available for anyone else to use. This lady is hogging four-fifths of the available local light. Put her into a dark sim, or somewhere that has lighting especially set by the build’s creator, and it would be ruined.

I’ve pixellated her face, to save her blushes:

Bling, and a billion lights. Please, just… DON’T OVERDO IT.

September 25, 2008 - Posted by | do's and don'ts, grrr!, mar's ponderings, weird stuff |

2 Comments »

  1. I recently got lectured on the use of facelights. I wasn’t even aware that I had on a lots of facelights plus hair lights! LOL Someone had to give me a notecard teaching me about it…It seems that we can look good to ourselves, but to other people, not so good…

    Comment by Lucrezia Proctor | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. OMG it’s the dreaded Moronus Blingus, also known as the Blingtard! Keep it away Mommie!

    Comment by Firebird | May 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

