SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Crasherama

Well, I was going to post a sim walkaround today, but the Second Life client (all of them!) had other ideas. Ten crashes in as many minutes. I’m using the new Release Client (which is the only one you can use right now, since trying to login with the ‘main viewer’ just prompts you to upgrade… to the Release Client!)

Crash 1 – Wearing an item I had just created.

Crash 2 – On teleport.

Crash 3 – Standing and doing nothing.

Crash 4 – Immediately on relog.

Crash 5 – Immediately on relog.

Crash 6 – On using camera controls to pull back my viewpoint just slightly.

Crash 7 – Immediately on relog.

Crash 8 – On trying to launch the Dazzle First Look viewer instead.

Crash 9 – Immediately on relog in Dazzle.

Crash 10 – On relog with Release Client.

Finally, setting my login point to Home, rather than Last Location, I got in, but all of my settings had reverted to default, and I had those awful ‘tutorial’ popups (“You have just opened your inventory!” Yes, I know I did. That’s because I clicked the ‘Inventory’ button, arseface!). My cache was also cleared (and when your cache is some 25,000 items heavy, that takes a loooooong time to reload).

Maybe it was the area I was in, because as soon as I set my login point to Home, I was fine, whereas whenever I tried to login to Last Location, I crashed big-time. *sigh* That sim walkaround was a good one, too! I’ll save it for later, when hopefully I won’t keep getting booted.

Edit: Well I found the reason for my crashes. My version of the Release Client had become corrupted. *sigh* No wonder it wouldn’t let me stay logged for more than a few minutes at a time!

April 12, 2008 - Posted by | second life, weird stuff |

4 Comments »

  1. I think your problem may be other than Second Life. When I opened this page, and I did it more than once to verify, a Trojen virus called either Crash/JS or JS/Crash was detected.

    Comment by Shaar | April 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. Correction, it’s called JS/Crasher…

    Comment by Shaar | April 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. You mean this WordPress blog page? Aie! I have no idea how to fix that, if there’s something wrong with the page.

    Comment by Mar | April 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. I found the reason for my crashing. My version of the Release Client had become corrupted. No wonder it wouldn’t stay logged for more than five minutes!

    Comment by Mar | April 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

