SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Hints & Tips: Removing yourself from hippoGROUPS lists

In August 2009 I blogged about removing yourself from unwanted notice lists. This method worked mainly with stores that had added you to Subscribe-o-matics without your permission, such as when you pick up a freebie or a hunt item, or even if you simply visited their store but didn’t buy anything. Some stores use a marketing strategy of adding all visitors/freebie or hunt item-grabbers to lists and then sending them update notecards or occasional giftcards (usually for small discounts) in order to entice them to their stores, but it can be very annoying when these notices cap your offline IMs if you can’t log in for a few days, or if you’re simply not interested in what the store sells.

So what do you do about it? Well, probably the same thing I used to do: click ‘discard’ on the notice when you log in, or (if they’re really bugging you) you might mute the sender. It’s easier to click ‘decline’ than it is to do something about it, after all. However, I was recently added by two stores that sent me notices on a regular basis, both of which I had never bought anything from. I recognised one as having been from a hunt prize I had picked up (and I may have even become a customer of that store but for their daily spamming with an LM and self-promotional spiel, so that strategy backfired for them!), but the other sold something I’m not even vaguely interested in, so I was pretty peeved to be receiving regular notices from them. And the trick up above didn’t work because they were using a different form of group: the hippoGROUPS.

If you’ve been added to a hippoGROUPS list and want to get out of it, luckily it’s very simple to do. And for the persistent store owners who keep adding you back to the list there is even a way to block them from doing so. Hop behind the cut to find out how.

First, you need to visit the Hippo Technologies sim in Second Life, using the avatar you want to remove from those lists. Dotted around the outside of the store you’ll see kiosks like the one arrowed here:

Go up to one of them and click on it. The kiosk will give you a randomly-generated password.

NOTE: Make sure you are out of chat range of anyone in the store. The password will be given in open chat, so anyone within 20m of you will be able to see it. Use some form of radar (either the free version of Mystitool, or the free radar from Crystal Gadgets) to ensure nobody in the store is that close to you. Walk to another kiosk if you have to.

Once you have your password, go to the My hippoGROUPS website and log in using your avatar name and the password you were given. You can change your password on the site once you’re logged in, so if you think someone heard your password in-world then you should do this (in fact, I’d recommend doing it anyway, but remember not to use your main Second Life login password. You should never associate that with your avatar name, either out-world or especially in-world). Don’t forget to note down what it is! If you forget your password, just visit the store in-world and click the board again.

Once you’ve logged in, you’ll see a page like this. Obviously, I’ve blurred out the groups I had been added to:

And there are all the notices I never signed up to receive! Grr! (And you can see how long I’d been ignoring them, too.) Anyway, from there it’s very simple: just click ‘Leave Group’ (and, if you get re-added, you can even click ‘Leave & Block Owner’) and you’ll be bugged no more.

Much better!

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | grrr!, hints and tips, second life

9 Comments »

  1. […] & Tips: Removing yourself from unwanted notice lists UPDATE: Click here to find out how to remove yourself from hippoGROUPS lists. The method listed below won’t work […]

    Pingback by Hints & Tips: Removing yourself from unwanted notice lists « SL for Nowt | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. I logged onto the website immediately after I got my password and it worked :) Thanks for the tips!

    Comment by KV | June 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh, that’s good news, KV! Maybe the server was a bit laggy when I tried it before. Thanks for letting me know, and glad it helped :)

      Comment by Mar | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much! I had stores and even people on there who I had no clue about ^_^ Some haven’t even sent messages since ’08

    Comment by Lilyana | June 14, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s amazing how many stores add us without our knowledge, Lilyana. I suppose we get so accustomed to seeing their names in our inventory offers when we log in that we assume we must have signed up for them at some point! I’m glad that you were able to remove yourself from the unwanted ones :)

      Comment by Mar | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. TY very much!wooooooooooooo

    Comment by JeanGenie Jewell | June 14, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re more than welcome, JeanGenie :)

      Comment by Mar | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. TY…..I have a store where twice I have gone in and clicked to unsub from the subscribo and I just keep getting notices, sometimes several a day! *grr* So I’ll try these tips now (I didn’t even think to try muting the sender).

    Comment by AK Alchemi | June 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Muting the sender is a good interim method, AK, but be aware that if you ever do visit the store and try to buy something from it, if you’ve muted the owner then you may not receive the item (I need to verify this using an alt, because I’m not sure if paying someone un-mutes them).

      It sounds as though the store in question had you on both a subscribo and a hippoGROUPS type group, and after you unsubscribed it was the latter group that kept sending you the notices. Hopefully you’ll find the culprit with the aid of this post.

      Comment by Mar | June 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

