SL for Nowt

Living a digital life with empty pockets

Memoirs of a Secret Geisha Boy

I spotted this lovely Midnight Mania prize on another blog (Chic at Phil’s Place – she’s on my blogroll, and a great freebie blogger; check her out daily!) and I hopped over to slap the board at The Gentlemen Bastards. While I was there, I found other goodies, including a lucky chair and a lucky board containing a beautiful and unusual gift: a geisha boy skin and outfit. I stuck around, the board went onto a wildcard, and I got it. It works best with a delicate male shape, and I knew just where to get one, so more lucky board hanging-around was required, at Den-Dou (go downstairs and look up above the archway) to get their sweet ‘Shiro’ shape.

Hop behind the cut for more pics!

The Geisha Boy outfit from the lucky board comes with this lovely skin, the kimono, the obi and the geta (which I didn’t know was the name for those Japanese sandals; you learn something new every day!) as well as the cute hair pins. There’s a note inside explaining that a more slender shape works better with the outfit and skin (although the outfit will work on any shape), and it also tells you where to buy the hair that’s used on the vendor pic (I wish more people would do this; so many times I see hair on a vendor pic that I love, but short of sending an IM to the creator, I have no idea where they got it from!)

I used something I already had, though: Truth’s Kensei hair, which sadly still isn’t available as a freebie, as far as I can tell. Anyway, here’s a close-up of the Geisha Boy outfit and skin:

I took the pics inside the Midnight Mania gift from The Gentlemen Bastards. This is out with an unbelievably low target, although I don’t know if the board is still being reset when it locks down. The gift is called The Secret Garden, and it’s a very unusual creation. It works both on land and as a skybox, and it’s open to the sky. When you’re inside it, there is the illusion of really being in a quiet garden:

It comes with two couches that have reading poses (touch the poseballs to get a book you can wear), a formal pond, orange tree and candles. This would be a great place to rez for anything from a romantic tryst, a meeting with friends, a garden party, or even an in-world wedding! Put out some of the candles, set your World to ‘midnight’ and it looks beautiful. Head over to the store and give that board a slap :)

P.S. While you’re waiting for the lucky board and chair, check out the rest of the store. They sell all kinds of things, including skyboxes, homes, orrerries and furniture, and the prices are my kinds of prices: cheap!

August 13, 2009 - Posted by | avatars, for the guys, homes and skyboxes, lucky boards, midnight mania boards, second life, shapes, skins

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

